Writing to Protected SFP ?

Here you can ask technical questions about REVELPROG-IS and device/memory programming.
sisgene
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:52 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Writing to Protected SFP ?

Postby sisgene » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:01 pm

Hi,
Just got a RevelProg + SFP Adapter. Reading many SFP brands fine.

Testing writing to OEM SFP, OK.

Trying to write to Finisar SFP always fail, tried 3 differents ref.

Googling around and found some manufacturer implements a kind of Password protection.

Someone have clues to write to theses "protected" SFP with RevelProg ?

Thanks.
Pierre

ArT
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:54 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 161 times

Re: Writing to Protected SFP ?

Postby ArT » Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:16 pm

edit note 2020-01-27:
since v1.8.2 update you can use password tool for password entry or password hacking, please check it:

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=527
-------------------------------------------------------------------

You can use custom script tool to write password to eeprom and unlock the SFP but you need to know (1) what addresses should be modified and (2) what is the password - it may be impossible to get this information if you do not have close friend in Finisar... (I do not have such information :( ). They describe in datasheets only password for user eeprom area (page 27 https://cdn.hackaday.io/files/215999240 ... eivers.pdf) but this is MSA standard and any word about manufacturer password. If you find any information please let me know.

I had the same problem with Finisar (and others) XFP modules (we are working on XFP adapter). There is the same situation - vendor area is write protected and I can't find information how to unlock it (not only me - it is popular issue on other forums...)

sisgene
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:52 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Writing to Protected SFP ?

Postby sisgene » Wed Jul 12, 2017 10:04 am

Hi Art,

This is a bad new ... I did'nt check enough.
The goal of the prog+adapter is to work with Finisar SFP.

So, some guys, by exemple, at S F P Tot al, have "secret" infos (and scripts) to deal with table A0 on Finisar or it's fake ?

Could you give script exemple how to "write" a 4 bytes password to A2, adr 7B as it's the reference for SFP ? (seems FC is also a good start)
It's for understanding the script.
Lately a batch mode have to be found, to write PSW values in A2 and test Write/read in A0.

Pierre.

ArT
Posts: 1515
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:54 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 161 times

Re: Writing to Protected SFP ?

Postby ArT » Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:39 am

As I know you can only read and write to user area but can not erase and write to manufacturer area for finisar (that's why these modules are so cheap on aftermarket).
I wrote you example script, first is pw write 4 byte at once, second is byte by byte (some SFP may require first method, some second). You can make script with GUI from script maker in application.

Code: Select all

// SFP 4 byte password write to 0x7B (4 byte at once: 0x11, 0x22, 0x33, 0x44)
#SCRIPT HEADER;
SCRIPT:v1.6.1;
#HARDWARE SETTINGS;
HW:I2C,3.0V,SLOW;

// write 4 byte password to 0x7B (10ms delay after write)
#OPERATION;
SW:1,3,0,0,0,0,10,0,0,500;
INSTR:A2,7B;
DATA:11,22,33,44;


Code: Select all

// SFP 4 byte password write to 0x7B (byte by byte: 0x11, 0x22, 0x33, 0x44)
#SCRIPT HEADER;
SCRIPT:v1.6.1;
#HARDWARE SETTINGS;
HW:I2C,3.0V,SLOW;

// write 1 byte password to 0x7B (10ms delay after write)
#OPERATION;
SW:1,0,0,0,0,0,10,0,0,500;
INSTR:A2,7B;
DATA:11;
// write 1 byte password to 0x7C (10ms delay after write)
#OPERATION;
SW:1,0,0,0,0,0,10,0,0,500;
INSTR:A2,7C;
DATA:22;
// write 1 byte password to 0x7D (10ms delay after write)
#OPERATION;
SW:1,0,0,0,0,0,10,0,0,500;
INSTR:A2,7D;
DATA:33;
// write 1 byte password to 0x7E (10ms delay after write)
#OPERATION;
SW:1,0,0,0,0,0,10,0,0,500;
INSTR:A2,7E;
DATA:44;


Please note that in some SFP you can write password only directly after SFP power up (it may not work after any operation), so you may need to unplug and plug SFP if you did any operation before.

sisgene
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:52 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Writing to Protected SFP ?

Postby sisgene » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:50 pm

Ok, Thanks. I'll try.


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests