Autodetect IC (mostly SPI)

Here you can ask technical questions about REVELPROG-IS and device/memory programming.
KALLE

Autodetect IC (mostly SPI)

Postby KALLE » Fri Oct 02, 2020 12:10 pm

Hey,
I'm new to the programmer but searched the board for "Autodetect" / "Detect" and so on for the more or less common feature on other programmers. - I just wanted to confirm that this function is really not (yet?) implemented?

I really miss an Autodetect IC feature. I would be okay to somewhat agree that it might only work on SPI and specified voltages or something. I'm mostly using SPI 3.3v and I really miss the autodetect function.

ArT

Re: Autodetect IC (mostly SPI)

Postby ArT » Mon Oct 05, 2020 2:07 pm

You can find READ ID function in tools -> Read ID and then you will need to select protocol (e.g. SPI 25 series, 1-wire etc) and voltage (because programmer supports also low voltage chips and when you select to high voltage for low voltage chip you can damage it). It will display you ID of memory and designation if it will be recognized but you will still need to select chip manually from database

KALLE

Postby KALLE » Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:55 pm

I saw the function but could you somewhat improve this?
at least after using Read ID (should get a button in the main UI) something like "select and apply" so that no extra step to select it in the database afterwards is necessary. Maybe something like a default mode or like a session would be at least come in handy if someone uses just one type most of the time. (like if i close with SPI settings, SPI is selected, voltage and so on)

ArT

Postby ArT » Thu Oct 15, 2020 7:48 am