HP firmware in the SFP module, so it could not be changed to Cisco or other compatible??

Here you can ask technical questions about REVELPROG-IS and device/memory programming.
palashgoyal
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2021 4:33 am
Has thanked: 4 times

HP firmware in the SFP module, so it could not be changed to Cisco or other compatible??

Postby palashgoyal » Thu Dec 02, 2021 6:52 am

Hi,

I am struggling with recoding a HP coded optic to Cisco optic. the module I have is J9150D-PO, it is with the HP firmware in the module, so it could not be changed to Cisco or other compatible ??
Are HP transceivers are special than others ?

I am attaching both hp and cisco code Please let me know if anyone has faced the similar issue and came to a solution. it will be very helpful and thanks in advance

Best ,
Palash Goyal
pgoyal [] pivotaloptics.com
Attachments
NEW CISCO SR_EEPROM_SFPA0.bin
(256 Bytes) Downloaded 139 times
HP SR_Original_Code _EEPROM_SFPA0.bin
(256 Bytes) Downloaded 146 times

thankfly
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2021 12:58 am
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: HP firmware in the SFP module, so it could not be changed to Cisco or other compatible??

Postby thankfly » Mon Dec 06, 2021 2:27 am

HP SFP+ SR is MORE special than Cisco.
HP SFP+ SR need HPidV2, that means something should wrote in MCUs.
Cisco only need to write SPECIAL hex contents in the EEPROM.
In a word: HP SFP+ SR can change to Cisco with wrote a special content.
Cisco SFP+ SR cannot change to HP SFP+ with wrote a special content.

palashgoyal
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2021 4:33 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: HP firmware in the SFP module, so it could not be changed to Cisco or other compatible??

Postby palashgoyal » Mon Dec 06, 2021 5:08 am

Thanks for your response, I was able to recode the the optic using password but still it does not work as it should be. I am sure now since you mentioned already, its definitely firmware on HP optics which makes it different then other platforms. If we need to change it we need to have the right firmware as well with the HP code. If anyone has or had similar issue and came to a conclusion please share your experience. It will be a great help. Thanks

thankfly
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2021 12:58 am
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: HP firmware in the SFP module, so it could not be changed to Cisco or other compatible??

Postby thankfly » Mon Dec 06, 2021 8:36 am

BTW: I dont think you can write the firmware to the modules.
The manufucture does not reserve the interface to communicate with MCUs.
All you can write in is EEPROM.
And, there is only a few guys have the firmware with HP.

palashgoyal
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2021 4:33 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: HP firmware in the SFP module, so it could not be changed to Cisco or other compatible??

Postby palashgoyal » Thu Feb 03, 2022 9:44 pm

Hi, just catching up.
Is there a way we can write the MCU using Beagle I2C/SPI Protocol Analyzer??
Please advise, Thanks

thankfly
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2021 12:58 am
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: HP firmware in the SFP module, so it could not be changed to Cisco or other compatible??

Postby thankfly » Sat Feb 05, 2022 2:51 am

palashgoyal wrote:Hi, just catching up.
Is there a way we can write the MCU using Beagle I2C/SPI Protocol Analyzer??
Please advise, Thanks

There is no sense to write MCU, because you don't have HP firmware.

ArT
Posts: 1505
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:54 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 161 times

Re: HP firmware in the SFP module, so it could not be changed to Cisco or other compatible??

Postby ArT » Mon Feb 07, 2022 7:58 am

There are many differents MCUs in SFPs and they are all read protected, it can not be changed. All of them are simulating EEPROM in MSA standard and you can change areas in MSA standard. Memory map details are descibed in this post: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=529


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron